Skip to main content


Bill Belew has raised 2 bi-cultural kids, now 34 and 30. And he and his wife are now parenting a 3rd, Mia, who is 8.



There are 16 teams that will compete in this year’s Fifa 2007 World’s Cup in China from September 10 – September 30th.


From the FIFA website. Here they are and how they got there.



FC (3) 1. Australia
2. Korea DPR
3. Japan
The AFC Women’s Championship took place from 16 to 30 July of 2006 in Australia and was won by FIFA Women’s World Cup hosts China. As a result, Australia themselves took the first qualifying slot, with third-placed side Korea DPR seizing the second. In March, Japan defeated Mexico in a two-legged play-off to become Asia’s third qualifier.
CAF (2) 1. Nigeria
2. Ghana
Nigeria and Ghana emerged triumphant from the CAF African Women’s Championship, and a field that also included Equatorial Guinea, South Africa, Algeria, Cameroon, RD Congo and Mali, to book their places in China. The tournament was contested in Nigeria in October and November of 2006.
2. Canada
Six teams competed in the 2006 CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup in the USA from 19-26 November, and it was the hosts and Canada who qualified for the final to book the two automatic places for the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup in China. The Americans went on to win the regional title.
CONMEBOL (2) 1. Argentina
2. Brazil
Argentina beat Brazil 2-0 on 26 November 2006 to qualify in the first place from the South American Women’s Championship in Mar del Plata. The tournament, which was played from 10 to 26 November, had seen the Canarinhas qualify the day before thanks to a 6-0 win over Paraguay, who missed out in the final qualifying phase along with Uruguay.
OFC (1) 1.New Zealand With three comfortable victories over Tonga, Solomon Islands and hosts Papua New Guinea, New Zealand successfully booked a place for the FIFA Women’s World Cup China 2007 at the Oceania Women’s World Cup qualifiers between 9 to 13 April 2007.
UEFA (5) 1. Norway
2. Sweden
3. Germany
4. Denmark
5. England
The European (UEFA) qualifying competition saw five groups of five teams each facing off in a series of home-and-away matches from March to September of 2006. The Scandinavian trio of Norway, Sweden, and Denmark booked their passage after grueling campaigns, as did perennial favorites Germany and a revived England outfit.
Host (1) 1. China PR
The host country qualifies automatically.

Talk to Bill and others about their experiences raising bi-cultural Japanese-American kids.

Bill Belew

Daddy and Christian.

Close Menu


Growing Up Aimi Series